Back to news

Presentation of the study and cataloguing of Pau Casals’ musical works


Presentation of the study and cataloguing of Pau Casals’ musical works The project on the study and cataloguing of Pau Casals’ musical works and the first volume of the publisher Editorial Boileau’s collection of the Maestro’s work with the score of the Sonata for violin and piano will be presented at Caixa Catalunya’s La Pedrera Auditorium on the coming Wednesday, 17th February at 7 o’clock p.m.

In 2008, the Pau Casals Foundation, in collaboration with the Social Institution of Caixa Catalunya, launched the project of researching, cataloguing completely and digitizing Pau Casals’ musical works. In charge of this project is Ms. Marta Casals together with the head of the Casals Archive, Núria Ballester, and the music historian Xosé Aviñoa. The digitization of the Pau Casals’ original scores, which is on deposit at present at the National Archive of Catalonia (ANC), will allow the preservation of these important documents and assure access to his work.

The catalogue is arranged chronologically according to Pau Casals’ three creative periods: the first period comprises the musician’s initial works from around the last decade of the 19th century and the early years of the 20th; the second period spans the 1930s and 1940s, a time that was linked to Catalonia after many years away from home and to the Maestro’s exile in France, and the third period encompasses the years he spent in Puerto Rico, by that time internationally acknowledged as a man of peace. The complete set of works includes over 90 compositions for piano and for voice and piano, religious pieces, chamber and choral works, sardanas, and pieces for small instrumental ensembles and large orchestras. The publication of these compositions, many of which are of unique interest, will allow their performance in the future.

With this aim, Editorial Boileau and the Pau Casals Foundation are promoting the publication of the Maestro’s complete works, seeking to ease their dissemination and to make them available to interested performers.

Taking part in the presentation ceremony will be Àlex Susanna, culture director of the Social Institution of Caixa Catalunya; Ms. Marta Casals, vice-president of the Pau Casals Foundation and director of the edition; Yolanda Guasch, director of Editorial Boileau, and Xosé Aviñoa, professor of musicology at the University of Barcelona, who is in charge of the cataloguing of Pau Casals’ works. The ceremony will close with a short concert from the Maestro’s repertory, which will feature the first public performance of several pieces including Rêverie and Romança for cello and piano, to be interpreted by the cellist Lluís Claret, three works for voice and piano, rendered by Assumpta Mateu, soprano and Francisco Poyato, piano, and the 2nd movement, Scherzo, of the Sonata for violin and piano, performed by Albert Attenelle, piano and Corrado Bolsi, violin.

Foundation Pau Casals

Avinguda Palfuriana, 67
43880 Sant Salvador, El Vendrell

Museum: +34 977 684 276
Foundation: +34 933 192 021

Fax. +34 977 684 783

 · W3C WAI-AA, WCAG 1.0 · valid XHTML 1.0 · valid CSS · Created by Signia